Release Notes Mono 3.4

Mono 3.4.0 is a culmination of 825 commits since the last release. This is the work of 55 contributors since Mid-January 2014 and includes a number of feature, stability, and performance improvements. 92 bugs were fixed in this release.

Revamped HttpWebRequest/ServicePoint stack

  • Should properly reuse connections.
  • Uses the specified Idle times.
  • NTLM support has been improved.
  • SSL/TLS operations on via async APIs are now implemented using async patterns internally to greatly alleviate Thread Pool abuse.

Network stack

  • Now allows developers to control which cipher suites to use with TLS/SSL.


  • Emit shorter floating point operations when possible
  • Hard float support: Mono now should work on Linux distributions which uses a hard float (armhf) ABI, like the Raspberry PI.

Notes: Homogeneous floating point aggregates are not yet supported on armhf.


  • Updated documentation stubs to the 4.5 .NET API.


  • Now supports regular expressions when specifying members to ignore (e.g. mono-api-html -i 'INSCopying$').

Breaking changes

  • mkbundle on Mac OS X now must always link against the Objective-C Runtime (-lobjc, however, it is recommended to link against the Foundation framework as well (-framework Foundation).


  • Aaron Bockover
  • Adam Rzepka
  • Alan McGovern
  • Alex Rønne Petersen
  • Alexander Köplinger
  • Alistair Bush
  • Alistair Leslie-Hughes
  • Andrea Canciani
  • Andrés G. Aragoneses
  • Ashley Winters
  • Atsushi Eno
  • AxlPr
  • Bassam Tabbara
  • Blewzman
  • Brendan Zagaeski
  • Craig Minihan
  • Craig Morris
  • Daniel Lo Nigro
  • David Karlaš
  • Dmitry Potapov
  • Eberhard Beilharz
  • Ed Boren
  • Enrico Sada
  • Etienne CHAMPETIER
  • Francis Fisher
  • Horst Kakuschke
  • Ivo Smits
  • Jeffrey Stedfast
  • Joao Matos
  • Joel Martinez
  • Jonathan Gagnon
  • Jonathan Pryor
  • João Matos
  • Justin Clark-Casey
  • Kelly
  • Linquize
  • Lluis Sanchez
  • Mackenzie Straight
  • Marek Safar
  • Mario Kosmiskas
  • Mark Probst
  • Martin Baulig
  • Martin Midtgaard
  • Michael Hutchinson
  • Miguel de Icaza
  • Neil Mayhew
  • Paolo Molaro
  • Robert ‘Bobby’ Zenz
  • Rodrigo Kumpera
  • Rolf Bjarne Kvinge
  • Sebastien Pouliot
  • Simon Hartmann
  • Treer
  • Vincent Povirk
  • Zoltan Varga
  • theraot